MHBPNA Annual General Meeting Update

On October 4, 2014 we held our Annual General Meeting at the Breithaupt Centre and were very excited to see about 35 people in attendance. We had Lego for the kids, coffee and food for the older folks and lots of information about what has been happening in our community over the past year and what we would like to work on for the future.  We also elected a full slate of Executive Members.

We began with current board members giving an overview of the past year where we have been very successful in engaging government and citizens. 

We have followed the Weber Street Widening closely and successfully lobbied for a pedestrian-activated cross walk at Wilhelm. We found some problems with the train tracks next to Louisa and Weber and CN sent crews to repair the deficiencies within a couple of days. We had several people out for our Earth Day cleanup.

We led a successful Jane’s Walk, where we celebrated the history of our neighbourhood, and held our ‘second annual’ bike tour of the area. We ran Lego programs at the Breithaupt Centre, a Much Music Dance Party and are involved in supporting the Spur Line Trail, fast tracking the Margaret Avenue Bridge and painting one of our intersections.

We would like to thank the Kitchener Optimists who have disbanded but who gave us their Abitibi paper collection bins. It took many phone calls and emails to sort all of that out, but we now receive over $1000 per year from those bins in the parking lot of the Breithaupt Centre, so please continue to drop off your paper!

Prior to the AGM we were also presented with a certificate of appreciation from the Guelph Street Garden because of our financial (and community) support. We have also supported a Lantern Walk last winter and a Bike Rodeo and street party on Dekay.

We appreciate that all four candidates for Councillor, Ward 10 attended and spoke about their background and platform (Adam Kochanski, Sarah Marsh, Gabrielle Korschewitz and James Howe). And Geoff Lorentz and Ken Seiling from the region also attended and Ken provided an update on Weber Street construction. 

Here is our new 2014-2015 executive:

Lane Burman: CoChair
Ted Parkinson: CoChair
Chris Dewar: Partnerships Director
Linda Vandenakker: Secretary
James Gaede: Communications Director
Trudy Beaulne: Treasurer
Dan Lackner: Special Events Director
Louis Burback: Member at Large
Graham Jackson: Program Director

We would like to thank everyone who came out to the meeting and all of you who follow our Blog and Facebook and participate in any of our activities. We look forward to an exciting year ahead!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.